Research Centre for Atmospheric Physics and Climatology

The Centre was founded under the Law 624/1977, following a decision of the Plenum of the Academy of Athens, endorsing a proposal by the late academician Elias C. Mariolopoulos.

The Senate of the Academy of Athens appointed as first Supervisor of the Centre, late Elias Mariolopoulos, who, together with its first Director Professor Christos Zerefos, organized the Center.

The library of the Centre is enriched thanks to the donations of the meteorological and climatic library of late Mariolopoulos, the meteorological libraries of the former Directors of the Hellenic National Meteorological Service, S. Papagiannakis and G. Daniil and others. The library of the Centre was also enriched through purchases of books and scientific publications. The biggest part of the library of the Centre is now located in the Central Library of the Academy of Athens.

The aims of the Centre are:

  • The study of climate fluctuations in any period.
  • The systematic study of the observations related to the upper layers of the atmosphere
  • The collection and processing of observations related to air pollution.

The Centre has established collaborations with many European Research Centers namely University of Giessen–Germany (J. Luterbacher, E. Xoplaki), University of Oslo-Norway (I. Isaksen), University of Toulouse-France (J.-P. Cammas, V. Thouret), Research Center Juelich-Germany (A. Volz-Thomas), European Research Center JRC Ispra-Ιταλία (J. Hjorth, N. Jensen), The Cyprus Institute (Μ. Lange, Π. Χατζηνικολάου), Laboratoire de Meteorologie Dynamique-Paris (J.-L. Dufresne, H. Chepfer), Laboratoire Universitaire des Systemes Atmospheriques-Paris (M. Beekmann, G. Foret), NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory, Chemical Sciences Division, CO, USA (O. Cooper, A. Gaudel).

The Center has also established collaboration with Greek Institutions such as the following: Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (D. Balis, P. Zanis), National Technical University of Athens (A. Papayannis, I. Ziomas), National Observatory of Athens (N. Mihalopoulos, E. Gerasopoulos, C. Giannakopoulos, D. Founda, V. Amoiridis, H. Kontoes), Dr. Athena Progiou (Physicist, expert in Environmental studies), National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (P. Nastos), University of Crete (M. Kanakidou), University of Patras (A. Kazadzidis, A. Argyriou), Ministry of Environment.

In the framework of these collaborations, the Center participates in European and National research projects, in which the following collaborating scientists are employed: Lida Dimitriadou, Iliana Polychroni, Theodora Stavraka, Dimitrios Voloudakis.

The results of the research in the Center are published in peer reviewed international journals or in the series "Editions" of the Centre and / or in the Proceedings of Scientific Conferences.

Soil Sensor Station ΝΕΟ:

Weather Station ΝΕΟ: 

Address: 79 Vasilissis Sofias str., 11521, Athens, Greece
Tel: +30 210 8832048
Fax: +30 210 8842098