International Council for Science (ICSU)

The International Council for Science (ICSU) is a non-governmental organisation with a global membership of national scientific bodies (122 Members, representing 142 countries) and International Scientific Unions (31 Members).

ICSU’s mission is to strengthen international science for the benefit of society. To do this, ICSU mobilizes the knowledge and resources of the international science community to:

  • Identify and address major issues of importance to science and society.
  • Facilitate interaction amongst scientists across all disciplines and from all countries.
  • Promote the participation of all scientists - regardless of race, citizenship, language, political stance, or gender - in the international scientific endeavour.
  • Provide independent, authoritative advice to stimulate constructive dialogue between the scientific community and governments, civil society, and the private sector.

Committee: George Contopoulos.-Dimitri Nanopoulos.- Anthony Kounadis. - Loucas G. Christophorou.-  Athanasios Fokas.-Christos Zerefos.-Constantinos Vayenas.-Charalambos Roussos.

Website of ICSU: https://www.icsu.org